Utah Traffic Ticket Fines and Costs
Judges go by a state-issued fine schedule to help them determine traffic ticket sentences; these include fines and surcharges. So getting a traffic ticket for running a red light in Salt Lake County might cost differently than one in Weber County. The schedule gives these judges a minimum base from which to start. From there, they take into account aggravating and or mitigating circumstances (such as violations that cause a wreck).
Your traffic ticket should list the fine amount; if you've misplaced the citation, refer to our page on lost traffic tickets. Failure to pay this fine or contest the ticket in court by the deadline on our ticket results in bail increase in the form of surcharges. Plus, the court could issue a warrant for your arrest.
So many factors go into the total amount due. Fortunately, Utah's Uniform Fine/Bail Forfeiture Schedule offers a clear starting point by unique violation. It also offers details on surcharges―which can range from an additional 35 to 90% of the base fine.
Traffic ticket fines also vary by the type of violation committed. These include:
- Turning, lane change and signaling violations
- Faulty equipment violations
- Traffic violations
Of course, if your violation resulted in an auto accident, you can bank on an increase in fees. That's because a court might consider the wreck an aggravating circumstance.
- Pay the fine online or in court
- Option to plea bargain penalties
- Incur points on your driving record (could lead to license suspension/revocation)
- Possibly incur increase on auto insurance rates
- Option to take defensive driving course
Learn more about
Paying your Traffic Ticket »
(Plead Not Guilty)
- Contest traffic ticket in court
- Choose to represent yourself during trial or hire an attorney
- Possibly lose option to plea bargain for lesser penalties
- No penalties if found guilty, but must pay court/attorney fees
Learn more about
Fighting your Traffic Ticket »
Utah Traffic Ticket Penalties
Traffic ticket penalties are uniform throughout the state. They range from points on your driving record to restricted driving privileges― or worse, jail time. However, just like with traffic ticket fines, a judge can adjust your sentence. For example, a judge can vary your points up or down by 10% for any traffic violation that isn't a speeding ticket. Plus, these penalties can vary by driver. In other words, someone who holds a CDL is penalized differently than a teen with a learner's permit. Scroll down for specifics on these two groups of drivers.
Utah Point System
Utah enlists a point system as part if its Driver Improvement Program. If you are older than 21 years old and accumulate more than 200 points on your driving record within a 3 year period, the state will ask you to appear for a hearing. Depending on how it goes, you could face probation, be asked to take a state-approved defensive driving course, or have your driver’s license suspended. For more on penalties for drivers younger than 21 years old, scroll down.
Usually following conviction or fine payment, traffic offenses get reported to the Utah Driver License Division. This means the following points will make their way to your driving record:
- Reckless driving―80 points
- Speeding (depending on severity}―37-75 points
- Failure to yield right-of-way―60 points
- Tailgating/following too closely―60 points
- Wrong side of the road―60 points
- Wrong way on one-way street―60 points
- Red light―50 points
- Stop sign―50 points
- Improper lookout―50 points
- Improper passing―50 points
- Negligent collision―50 points
- Other moving violations―40 points
Any points for moving traffic violations and suspensions will stay on your driving record for 3 years. For more on moving violations and the points that come with them, refer to the Utah Driver Handbook or our page on the Utah Point System.
UT Driver's License Suspension and Revocation
Not all convictions result in a suspended or revoked driver's license, but it's worth getting the facts so you know where you and your driving privileges stand. The difference between the two is:
License Suspension―The temporary withdrawal of a driver license or driving privilege for a definite period of time.
License Revocation―The termination of a driver license or driving privilege for an indefinite period of time. May be restored when all requirements for the revocation have been satisfied.
The following result in license suspension:
- Conviction of sufficient traffic violations to be subject to the Division Point System.
- As a Utah driver, failing to appear in court for a traffic violation when it occurred within the state or in a Non-Resident Violator Compact member state, or that you failed to satisfy fees, fines, or restitution to the court on any criminal charge.
- Conviction for a violation related to approaching an emergency vehicle, and have failed to complete a live classroom course on driving safety offered by an approved entity.
- Causing or contributing to a crash in which someone was injured or killed or which resulted in serious property damage by reckless or unlawful conduct.
- Being arrested for DUI or having been found guilty of any drug offense.
- Operating a vehicle or allowing a vehicle registered to you to be operated without required insurance or proof of financial responsibility.
The following result in license revocation:
- Failure to stop and give aid if you are involved in a motor vehicle crash resulting in the death of, or personal injury to another.
- Two charges of reckless driving or impaired driving in one year.
- Attempting to flee or refusing to stop after receiving a visual or audible signal from a police officer.
- By reckless or unlawful conduct, you have caused
or contributed to a crash in which someone was injured or killed or which resulted in serious property damage.
- Driving with a measurable or detectable amount of alcohol in your system when you have an alcohol- restricted status.
If caught driving with a denied, suspended or revoked driver's license you might be sentenced to jail for 90 days and get slapped with a fine. Plus, the state will extend the duration your license denial, suspension or revocation by the original amount of time. For example, a 3 month suspension could get an additional 3 months tacked on.
For more on the specifics surrounding driver's license suspension and revocation and a full list of applicable offenses, consult the Utah Driver Handbook and our page titled Utah Suspended License
Penalties for Drivers Younger than 21
Drivers younger than 21 years old face a stricter point system in Utah. While the same number of points per violation listed above still apply, if you accumulate 70 or more within a 3 year period, you could be looking at:
- A hearing and subsequent suspension
- Denial of driving privileges from 30 days to 1 year
Keep in mind a judge can vary these points can plus or minus 10% for traffic violations; the only exception is for speeding tickets. Any points for moving traffic violations and suspensions will stay on your driving record for three years.
Penalties for Utah Commercial Drivers
Following a moving traffic violation conviction, the state will send your driving record to the Commercial Driver License Information System; any record of license suspensions and revocations will also go to the National Driver Register.
Holding a UT CDL also comes with stricter penalties when driving your personal vehicle. For example, if you driving privilege to operate your own car is revoked, canceled or suspended due to traffic control law violations, you'll also lose your privileges to operate a commercial motor vehicle. For a full list of penalties―while operating your own car or a CMV―consult the Utah Commercial Vehicle Driver Handbook.
The following lists of violations are just a sampling of the many ways you could to lose your CDL:
Committing 2 serious traffic violations within three years while using or operating a commercial motor vehicle will cause you to lose your CDL for at least 60 days. Conviction of a third within that time period increases the loss of license to 120 days.
- Suspended License
- Accident Guide
- Traffic Tickets
- Ticket Fines and Penalties
- Traffic Ticket Attorneys
- When to Hire a Traffic Ticket Lawyer
- Pay Traffic Ticket
- Lost Traffic Ticket
- Fight Traffic Ticket
- When to Fight a Traffic Ticket
- Traffic Ticket FAQ
- Traffic Ticket Glossary
- Driving Records
- Traffic School
- DMV Point System
- Traffic Safety Laws
- Driving Distractions
- Driving Records
If you successfully pay your fine and do not commit another traffic infraction again within that 6 to 12 month period of time, the court will automatically dismiss your case. Thereby keeping your criminal record clean. Driving Record.What happens if you don't pay a traffic ticket in Utah? ›
If you do not pay the fine before that date or come to court on that date, the court can issue a warrant for your arrest and can suspend your driver's license. Be sure to contact the court if you need to reschedule the court date, or cannot meet the deadline.How long do citations stay on your record in Utah? ›
Points for individual convictions are automatically removed from your record three (3) years after the date of the violation.Does traffic school remove ticket from record Utah? ›
Traffic school, which are also known as defensive driving courses in Utah, take 50 points off your driving record upon completion.Can you fight a speeding ticket in Utah? ›
Yes, you certainly can fight your Utah speeding ticket in court. Too many people assume that an officer giving them a ticket automatically means they're guilt. That's not the case. You have the right to go to court to tell your side of the story.How long does it take to get a speeding ticket off your record in Utah? ›
In order to plead not guilty in Utah (pleading not guilty is the same as fighting a ticket), you must visit a justice court who will be regulating your case. Once your plea is recorded, the specific court regulating your case will give you a time and day to come back for a pretrial conference OR full trial.How long do you have to pay a ticket in Utah? ›
Regardless of plea, it must be entered before the ticket's due date. In most cases, this will be about 30 days from the infraction date.How many points is a speeding ticket in Utah? ›
1 to 10 MPH: 35 points. 11 to 20 MPH: 55 points. 21 MPH or more: 75 points. Reckless driving: 80 points.How many points can you have on your license in Utah? ›
Utah uses driver's license points to track violations. Accumulating 200 points in 3 years (70 points in 3 years for drivers under 21) will result in a suspended license.
How many points can you get on your licence? There's no upper limit on how many points you can get on your licence, though getting 12 points or more within a three-year period usually results in a minimum driving ban of six months.Is a speeding ticket a misdemeanor in Utah? ›
UTAH TRAFFIC TICKETS. In Utah, speeding tickets are Class C Misdemeanors. The Utah Traffic Code can be found at 41-6a-101. It is rather large and has 20 different subchapters.How many times can you go to traffic school in Utah? ›
Utah allows you to take a traffic school course for a violation once every 18 months.How much does traffic school cost in Utah? ›
The traffic school fee of $65.00 will be paid online before you begin traffic school. The traffic violation does not involve a mandatory court appearance; The traffic violation does not involve speeding cited for more than 20 mph over the posted speed limit.Does Utah offer traffic school? ›
Although the court offers online traffic school, you also have the option of your choice of online traffic school through other entities. Before proceeding to take online traffic school, you must pay your citation online including the plea in abeyance fee first.Can you appeal a speeding ticket? ›
So how can you appeal against a speeding fine? If you do want to appeal, you must do it in writing, stating the reasons you think the charge is inappropriate. You should also fill in the form that is sent to you with the driver's information and send it back within 28 days.How much is a following to close ticket in Utah? ›
In Utah, tailgating or “following too closely” is an infraction. An infraction is an offense that carries no jail time, but you may have to pay a fine of up to $750.What is reckless driving Utah? ›
Reckless driving -- Penalty.
(1) A person is guilty of reckless driving who operates a vehicle in willful or wanton disregard for the safety of persons or property.
The Criminal Procedure Act clearly states that the payment of an admission of guilt fine will be the same as being convicted and sentenced in court. This means that an accused will have a criminal record as it will be captured by the clerk of the Magistrate's Court in the criminal record for admission of guilt fines.How long do tickets stay on your record? ›
A typical traffic ticket stays on your record for approximately three years, potentially impacting your car insurance rates and ability to drive.
How Long Do Points Stay On Your Licence? Points can stay on your driving record for 4-11 years.How do I get my driving record in Utah? ›
Visit the website https://secure.utah.gov/mvr-personal/ 2. “Request New Record” 3. Fill out your information and pay the fee.How long does a Utah driver's license last? ›
If you hold a driver's license in Utah, you must do a Utah driver's license renewal every eight years. The driver's license has your complete information and expiration date on the front.How much is an expired registration ticket in Utah? ›
Utah's offense for driving with an expired registration is an “infraction.” An infraction is a minor offense, like a traffic violation or disorderly conduct offense. Despite this, you can still be arrested for an expired registration in Utah. The penalty for an infraction is usually fines of up to $750.How much is a ticket for going 5 over in Utah? ›
Penalties for a Speeding Ticket
The fines for a speeding violation are: $120 for 1 to 10 miles per hour over the limit. $150 for 11 to 15 miles per hour over the limit. $200 for 16 to 20 miles per hour over the limit.
To learn the status of a case filed in 3rd District Court call 801/238-7300 or visit utcourts.gov/records/ to learn more about accessing court records.Does Utah have red light cameras? ›
Red light cameras are not legal in Utah as no legislation has been passed permitting or regulating their use. As a result, you shouldn't find red light cameras at city intersections in Utah.How many penalty points do you get for speeding? ›
Speed limits are set for a reason and exceeding them is illegal. The minimum penalty for speeding is £100 fine and three points added to your licence. Receiving 12 or more points within three years may disqualify you from driving.What is criminal speeding Utah? ›
Beginning on May 4, 2022, a person driving at speeds of 105 miles per hour or greater can be charged with Reckless Driving, a Class B Misdemeanor. Additionally, any speed violation in excess of 100 miles per hour will result in a 150% enhanced fine.Do speeding points count as a conviction? ›
Speeding Offense FAQs
Is a speeding fine a conviction? Yes. A speeding fine is issued if you are convicted of a driving offence. While you may not be required to appear before a court, you are still considered convicted of committing a driving offence.
In Utah, drivers accumulate 35 points for minor violations like speeding 1-10 miles per hour over the limit. For major violations, like reckless driving, drivers will get 80 points.What gives you the highest points on your license? ›
Most moving violations result in points on your record. For example, reckless driving, speeding, illegal turns, not making a complete stop, drunken driving and at-fault accidents all incur points. Each state assesses points under its own laws, but the more serious the violation, the more points you get.How many points can you miss on a driving test in Utah? ›
There are 30 questions on the exam that will test your knowledge of various road laws and traffic signs throughout the state. You will be required to answer 24 correctly in order to earn a passing score of 80%.Can you still drive with 6 points? ›
Under the Road Traffic (New Drivers) Act, any driver who gets six or more penalty points within two years of passing your test will have their driving licence revoked. This includes any penalty points given before they passed their test.How can I check my penalty points? ›
How do you find out how many penalty points you have on your driving licence? To find out how many penalty points are on your driving licence record, contact the National Driver Licence Service (NDLS) at 0818 700 800 or email email@example.com, and quote your driving licence number.Can you still drive with 12 points? ›
The short answer is, if you amount 12 penalty points or more on your driving licence within a three year period, you will be known as a “totter” and banned from driving for a minimum period of six months.How much over the speed limit is considered Reckless Driving in Utah? ›
|1-10 mph over:||35|
|11-20 mph over:||55|
|21+ mph over:||75|
Should I go to court for a speeding ticket? If you speed by a large enough amount, you'll have to go to court. If you don't appear in court, you'll almost certainly be found guilty of the offence. If you receive a Notice of Intended Prosecution (NIP), you can respond guilty and accept your fine and points.What speed is considered Reckless Driving in Utah? ›
As noted by the Utah Highway Patrol (UHP), if you are speeding in excess of 105 mph you can now be cited with Reckless Driving. This change constitutes traveling at 105 mph or higher as a misdemeanor when it was an infraction in the past.Can you do traffic school for a speeding ticket in Utah? ›
The State of Utah requires that you pay a plea-in-abeyance fee (set to the ticket fine amount), and the fee to attend traffic school is $65. Please contact us at 801-772-4525 if you plan on taking traffic school to determine eligibility. Traffic school lasts approximately 3 hours.
UTAH TRAFFIC TICKETS. In Utah, speeding tickets are Class C Misdemeanors. The Utah Traffic Code can be found at 41-6a-101. It is rather large and has 20 different subchapters.How much is a ticket for going 5 over in Utah? ›
§ 41-6a-601, speeding leads to the following fines according to the number miles above the MPH limit: 1-10 – $120. 11-15 – $150. 16-20 – $ 200.Do parking tickets go on your record in Utah? ›
Thankfully, parking tickets don't go on your driving record. Only tickets for moving violations will go on your record, such as speeding or reckless driving. Other types of moving violations include: Running a red light or stop sign.How much is a 15 mph over ticket in Utah? ›
|11 to 15 mph over||$160|
|16 to 20 mph over||$210|
|21 to 25 mph over||$280|
|26 to 30 mph over||$380|
Utah drivers who receive a speeding ticket will also incur points on their license, typically between 35 and 75 points. If a driver over 21 collects 200 points or more within three years, their license can be suspended for three months to one year.How much does traffic school cost in Utah? ›
The traffic school fee of $65.00 will be paid online before you begin traffic school. The traffic violation does not involve a mandatory court appearance; The traffic violation does not involve speeding cited for more than 20 mph over the posted speed limit.How much over the speed limit is considered Reckless Driving in Utah? ›
|1-10 mph over:||35|
|11-20 mph over:||55|
|21+ mph over:||75|
Is a speeding fine a conviction? Yes. A speeding fine is issued if you are convicted of a driving offence. While you may not be required to appear before a court, you are still considered convicted of committing a driving offence.What speed is considered Reckless Driving in Utah? ›
As noted by the Utah Highway Patrol (UHP), if you are speeding in excess of 105 mph you can now be cited with Reckless Driving. This change constitutes traveling at 105 mph or higher as a misdemeanor when it was an infraction in the past.How do I fight a traffic ticket in Utah? ›
In order to plead not guilty in Utah (pleading not guilty is the same as fighting a ticket), you must visit a justice court who will be regulating your case. Once your plea is recorded, the specific court regulating your case will give you a time and day to come back for a pretrial conference OR full trial.
When Is The Fine Due? Traffic Citations Must Be Paid In Full Within 21 Calendar Days From The Date The Citation Was Issued.Can you go to jail for speeding in Utah? ›
Violating Utah's speeding laws is an infraction. In Utah, there is no jail time for infractions, only fines. The penalties for multiple speeding tickets in Utah is a gradual increase of points on your driving record until your license is suspended.How long do tickets stay on your record? ›
A typical traffic ticket stays on your record for approximately three years, potentially impacting your car insurance rates and ability to drive.Is a parking ticket a criminal conviction? ›
This is a civil matter, not a criminal offence.How long can you stay in a car park without paying? ›
10-minute mandatory grace period in parking bays
If a vehicle is parked legally in a designated parking bay when it is initially parked, then a 10-minute grace period should be given before a parking ticket is issued after it becomes illegally parked.